Home > Message Boards > Guests Support >
More of that copyright thing...
This forum is locked you cannot post, reply to or edit topics   This topic is locked you cannot edit posts or make replies View previous topic :: View next topic
Substitute Higgins

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 6:16 pm   Post subject: More of that copyright thing... Reply with quote

Hi!

Love your site - thank you very much for it, it has been useful a few times!

I have a kind of a dilemma I thought you might be able to help me to solve.

I am an amateur theatre director-actor and composer from Finland. I'm currently rehearsing the role of Henry Higgins in a local production of My Fair Lady.

Our theatre has naturally purchased the rights from our local agent/distributor to perform the play and the music.

Since we are a small theatre with a minuscule budget (no money for a live band), the songs will be performed in singback - that is, only the singing is live. Our musical director originally planned only to play the piano into the background music tape from the official sheets we got. As I felt that it would greatly damage the splendour of the score, I suggested that we might at least TRY to use "a bigger orchestra" - meaning mainly synthesizers, of course. icon_smile.gif If we are lucky we might be able to get a couple of amateur musicians to play certain parts of the music onto the tape. To add that important feel of real, you know. icon_smile.gif

We have no sheets for the larger orchestration - and I think it isn't even accessible for an amateur theatre in Finland. Plus it would be a colossal job to any one man to play the music into the computer, even if one had the sheets.

So, after this - er - lenghty introduction, my question is:

Is there a specific copyright for the sequenced music you offer here for a non-profit use? In other words, are we illegitimate to use your MIDI files in producing the background tape, even though we have bought the rights for the play and its music?